topheader1.GIF (29750 bytes)
Discover San Diego's inner soul on walking tours of her diverse & unique urban neighborhoods. Our casually paced adventures provide an opportunity to explore San Diego's hidden gems--the older neighborhoods that are the foundation of America's Finest City. It's only by walking the residential streets & sipping coffee in neighborhood cafés that one can feel the pulse of a city and gain an appreciation for the role of a small neighborhood in the big city. Urban Safaris was formed to introduce residents and visitors to San Diego’s urban neighborhoods and their cozy cafés, one-of-a-kind shops, enticing ethnic eateries, architectural details, and surprising oddities. But it’s also a great way to make new friends and get some exercise, learning as you go.

Explore the thriving art community of East Village, the ostrich eggs of University Heights, the funkyhat.GIF (4646 bytes) beach community of OB, the Irving Gill architecture of Hillcrest, and much more. You’ll be surprised at what you find--San Diego is so much more than just beaches and Balboa Park. Don your safari hat and join me on an urban safari!
See schedule below.

'line.GIF (720 bytes)

Urban Safari Walking Tour 2016 Schedule:

Sat., Jan. 9, 10:00am-noon, Balboa Park
Sat., Jan. 16, 9:30am-noon, Barrio Logan
Sat., Jan. 23, 9:30am-noon, La Jolla
Sat., Jan. 30, 9:30am-noon, Kensington
Sat., Feb. 6, 9:30am-noon, North Park
Sat., Feb. 13, 9:30-noon, Ocean Beach
Sat., Feb. 20, 9:30am-noon, Bankers Hill
Sat., Feb. 27, 9:30am-noon, Liberty Station
Sat., April 2, 9:300am-noon, University Heights
Sat., April 16, 9:30am-noon, Presidio Park (involves hills)
Sat., April 23, 9:30am-noon, Little Italy & N. Embarcadero
Sat., April 30, 9:30am-noon, Hillcrest-new version
Sat., May 7, 9:30am-noon, Balboa Park & canyons (involves hills)
Sat., May 14, 10:00am-noon, Mission Hills
Sat., May 21, 10:00am-noon, Gaslamp Quarter
Sat., May 28, 10:00am-noon, East Village
Sat., June 4, 10:00am-noon, South Park
Sat., June 25, 10:00am-noon, Point Loma (involves hills)
Sat., July 9, 10:00am-noon, Mission Hills
Sat., July 16, 9:30am-noon, North Park
Sat., July 23, 9:30am-noon, Bankers Hill
Sat., July 30, 9:30am-noon, Hillcrest-extended version
Sat., Aug. 6, 9:30am-noon, Liberty Station
Sat., Aug. 13, 9:30am-noon, East Village-extended version
Sat., Aug. 20, 9:30am-noon, Kensington
Sat., Aug. 27, 9:30am-noon, Barrio Logan
Sat., Sept. 10, 9:30am-noon, South Park & Switzer Canyon
Sat., Sept. 17, 9:30am-noon, Ocean Beach
Sat., Sept. 24, 9:30am-noon, Little Italy & Maple Canyon
Sat., Oct. 1, 9:30am-noon, Embarcadero Public Art
Sat., Oct. 8, 10:00am-noon, Mt. Hope Cemetery
Sat., Oct. 29, 9:30-noon, Golden Hill & Sherman Heights

Click here to reserve your spot! »

Private group tours are available by appointment during the week.
Call 619-944-WALK(9255) or email

Walk Details

All walks are 2 1/2 to 3 miles in length on relatively flat terrain.

Although each walk is set to last 2 hours, you may want to come early for coffee or linger longer in one of the interesting shops or cafés you’ve just discovered.

$10 per person for Saturday walks. Group size limited to 15, so book early for Saturday walks!

All walks are available by appointment during the week.

Snow Cancels

line.GIF (720 bytes)
Select a Neighborhood for Information:

eastvillage.GIF (6188 bytes) hillcrest.GIF (6725 bytes) oceanbeach.GIF (7144 bytes)

sp.gif (7295 bytes)

missionhills.gif (4938 bytes)
univesity.GIF (7272 bytes) bankershill.GIF (6853 bytes) gq.GIF (6153 bytes) pointloma.gif (6603 bytes) lajolla1.GIF (6799 bytes)

line.GIF (720 bytes)


Return to Home Page

© Urban Safaris, 2001 All Rights Reserved.